Odisha’s Kishore Jena to make Olympic debut in Paris, Neeraj to lead Indian squad

Bhubaneswar: The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) has announced a 28-member Indian athletics team for the upcoming Paris 2024 Olympics. The contingent will be led by men’s javelin throw defending champion, Neeraj Chopra. Ace javelin thrower from Odisha, Kishore Jena, will also participate in the Olympics for the first time.

The Paris-bound contingent includes 17 men and 11 women athletes. In the women’s javelin throw event, Annu Rani—who had clinched a gold at the Asian Games last year—will compete.

Men’s 3000m steeplechase athlete Avinash Sable, shot putter Tajinderpal Singh Toor, women’s race walker Priyanka Goswami and 4x400m relay runners Muhammed Anas, Amoj Jacob and Subha Venkatesan are also part of the contingent. They had also competed in the Tokyo Olympics three years ago.

Ace hurdler Jyothi Yarraji, shot putter Abha Khatua and steeplechaser Parul Chaudhary will make their debut in the Olympics.
National record-holder Akshdeep Singh, Vikash Singh and Paramjeet Singh Bisht will participate in the men’s 20km race walk event while Suraj Panwar will compete in the mixed marathon event with Priyanka Goswami.

Meeting with the PM
On Thursday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi met the Indian contingent heading for Paris. “Interacted with our contingent heading to Paris for the Olympics. I am confident that our athletes will give their best and make India proud. Their life journeys and success give hope to 140 crore Indians,” the PM wrote on X.

Know the schedule
The 2024 Summer Olympics is scheduled to take place from July 26 (the date of the opening ceremony) to August 11, 2024, in France, with some competitions starting on July 24. Paris is the main host city. Events will be held at 16 other cities spread across Metropolitan France, including one subsite in Tahiti—an island.

Indian Contingent for Paris 2024 Olympics:

  • Avinash Sable (men’s 3000m steeplechase)
  • Neeraj Chopra (men’s javelin throw)
  • Kishore Jena (men’s javelin throw)
  • Tajinderpal Singh Toor (men’s shot put)
  • Praveen Chithravel (men’s triple jump)
  • Abdulla Aboobacker (men’s triple jump)
  • Sarvesh Kushare (men’s high jump)
  • Akshdeep Singh (men’s 20km race walk)
  • Vikash Singh (men’s 20km race walk)
  • Paramjeet Singh Bisht (men’s 20km race walk)
  • Muhammed Anas (men’s 4x400m relay)
  • Muhammed Ajmal (men’s 4x400m relay)
  • Amoj Jacob (men’s 4x400m relay)
  • Santhosh Kumar Tamilarasan (men’s 4x400m relay)
  • Rajesh Ramesh (men’s 4x400m relay)
  • Mijo Chacko Kurian (men’s 4x400m relay)
  • Suraj Panwar (race walk mixed marathon)
  • Kiran Pahal (women’s 400m)
  • Parul Chaudhary (women’s 3000m steeplechase and 5,000m)
  • Jyothi Yarraji (women’s 100m hurdles)
  • Annu Rani (women’s javelin throw)
  • Abha Khatua (women’s shot put)
  • Jyothika Sri Dandi (women’s 4x400m relay)
  • Subha Venkatesan (women’s 4x400m relay)
  • Vithya Ramraj (women’s 4x400m relay)
  • MR Poovamma (women’s 4x400m relay)
  • Prachi (women’s 4x400m relay)
  • Priyanka Goswami (women’s 20km race walk and race walk mixed marathon)

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.