Nomination for first phase poll in Odisha ends today

Bhubaneswar: The nomination filing process for four Lok Sabha and 28 Assembly constituencies in Odisha going to polls in the first phase on May 13 is ending on Thursday. The nomination process was started on April 18.

According to Election Commission of India (ECI) notification, the nomination papers will be verified during scrutiny on Friday and candidates will be able to withdraw their nominations by Monday, April 29.

Along with 28 Assembly seats, polling will also be held in 4 Lok Sabha seats namely Kalahandi, Berhampur, Koraput and Nabarangpur in the first phase. Till Wednesday, a total of 30 candidates had filed their nomination for first phase Lok Sabha polls including 10 in Kalahandi, three in Nabarangpur, eight in Berhampur and nine in Koraput.

Likewise, 336 candidates had filed the nomination for 28 Assembly seats, including 15 in Nuapada, 12 in Khariar, six in Umerkote, four in Jharigam, seven in Nabarangpur, six in Dabugam, 11 in Lanjigarh, 15 in Junagarh, 12 in Dharamgarh, 11 in Bhawanipatna, 13 in Narla, 13 in Chhatrapur, eight in Gopalpur, 24 in Berhampur, 22 in Digapahandi, 11 in Chikiti, 14 in Mohana, 12 in Paralakhemundi, 16 in Gunupur, 13 in Bissam Cuttack, 16 in Rayagada, eight in Laxmipur, eight in Kotpad, nine in Jeypore, 14 in Koraput, 12 in Pottangi, 15 in Malkangiri, and nine in Chitrakonda will go to polls on May 13.

Odisha’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) has requested candidates not to hold huge rallies when they visit district authorities to file their nomination papers.

Polling for 21 Lok Sabha and 147 Assembly seats in Odisha will be held in four phases on May 13, 20, 25 and June 1. Counting of votes will be held on June 4.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.