Odisha Cabinet reshuffle tomorrow at 9.30am

Odisha Cabinet reshuffle tomorrow at 9.30am

Bhubaneswar: Odisha cabinet is set for a minor reshuffle on Monday with the swearing in of at least three new ministers by Governor Ganeshi Lal at 9.30 am.

While two ministers Sameer Das and Srikant Sahu resigned last week, one more position is laying vacant after the assassination of Health and Family Welfare Minister Naba Kishore Das on January 29. Odisha Assembly Speaker Bikram Keshari Arukha has also resigned. Speculations are rife about two more ministers are likely to be asked to quit.

According to reports, the new appointments with the distribution of portfolios will be held at the new convention centre of the Lok Seva Bhawan. Governor Ganeshi Lal, who is away in in his home state Haryana, will cut short his visit by a day and arrive in Bhubaneswar on Sunday evening.

Among the faces that may be inducted are Deepali Das, newly-elected MLA of Jharsuguda and daughter of slain BJD minister Naba Das. The names of Susanta Singh and Sarada Nayak from western Odisha are also doing the rounds. A ministerial berth may also go to representatives from Puri and Ganjam. Kabisuryanagar MLA Latika Pradhan, a first-timer, and Berhampur MLA Biskram Panda are in contention and so also senior MLAs like Debi Mishra, Prasanta Muduli and Umakanta Samantaray.

Though Arukha resigned from his post citing personal reasons, he is open to joining the ministry. Sahu and Dash, on the other hand, were reportedly asked to resign having got embroiled in a case of sexual exploitation of a woman Biju Janata Dal (BJD) leader and suicide of a party zilla parishad member, respectively.

Sources, however, said that these leaders will be given organisational responsibility in Biju Janta Dal (BJD) ahead of the 2024 general election next year.

Revenue minister Pramila Mallick is currently holding additional charge of School and Mass Education and Labour departments while Finance Minister Niranjan Pujari was earlier assigned Health and Family Welfare department.

9.30 AM: The ministers-designate will be escorted to the function and received by the principal secretary of the state parliamentary affairs department.

9.40 AM: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will arrive at the venue.

9.45 AM: Governor Ganeshi Lal will be received by Chief Secretary and escorted to the VIP lounge.

9.50 AM: Chief Secretary will obtain Governor’s permission to commence the oath-taking ceremony following which he will read out the order of appointment. The Governor will then administer the oath of office and secrecy to the ministers-designate.

Share This