Newly-elected Odisha MLAs to take oath from tomorrow

Bhubaneswar: A three-tier security net has been thrown in and around the Odisha Assembly building in Bhubaneswar as the newly elected MLAs are slated to take oath from Tuesday.

As per official sources, the oath-taking ceremony of the newly- elected MLAs will take place from on June 18 and 19. The election for Speaker is slated to be held on June 20.

In view of the special three-day session, the senior officials of Odisha Police, including the DGP Arun Sarangi, Twin City Police Commissioner Sanjeeb Panda and others reviewed the security arrangements at the Assembly on Monday.

This will be the first session of the new Assembly after the formation of the BJP government in the state. At least 75 senior police officials and eight platoon forces have been deployed to prevent any untoward incident during the oath-taking ceremony.

This apart, anti-sabotage and anti-terrorist teams have also been deployed as a precautionary measure.

A limited force has been deployed as there is likely to be no rally, agitation or demonstration. The security arrangement has been divided into three parts – inner cordon, outer cordon and isolation cordon. A special team has been given the security arrangements inside the Assembly, DGP Arun Sarangi said.

A control room has also been opened and those who have the pass will only be allowed inside the Vidhan Sabha due to security reasons, he said

There will be temporary traffic diversions for the short Assembly session, Sanjeeb Panda said.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.