BJP MP Bhartruhari Mahtab sworn in as Pro-tem Speaker

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party MP Bhartruhari Mahtab took oath as pro-tem Speaker of the 18th Lok Sabha on Monday. President Droupadi Murmu administers the oath. Prime Minister Narendra Modi also attended the oath-taking ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

President Murmu appointed BJP’s seven-time MP Bhratruhari Mehtab as pro-tem Speaker, instead of Congress’ K Suresh, who has been elected to Parliament eight times.

According to reports, to protest against Mahtab being made pro-tem Speaker, INDIA bloc MPs have decided not to sit on the Speaker’s chair to assist during the oath-taking ceremony of MPs.

Later, the pro-tem Speaker administered the oath to the newly-elected members. The Lok Sabha Speaker will be elected on June 26, followed by President Droupadi Murmu addressing the joint sitting of both houses of Parliament on June 27.

This is the first session of the 18th Lok Sabha after the general elections, where the NDA won 293 seats, and the INDIA bloc secured 234 seats, with the Congress holding 100 of them.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.