Bhubaneswar, Puri break rainfall records

Bhubaneswar, Puri break rainfall records

Bhubaneswar: Heavy rainfall continued in many parts of Odisha for the past 24 hours, breaking old records in capital city Bhubaneswar and pilgrim city Puri, the IMD said on Monday.
The depression over northwest Bay of Bengal and adjoining Odisha coast intensified into a deep depression and crossed the coast near Chandbali in Bhadrak district on Monday morning, India Meteorological Department (IMD) said. It is very likely to continue to move west-northwest wards across north Odisha, north Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh during the next 48 hours, and weaken into a depression during the subsequent 24 hours, it said.
Under its influence, heavy rainfall occurred in coastal, northern and interior pockets of Odisha since Sunday morning. Highest 530 mm rainfall was recorded at Astaranga in Puri district, followed by Kakatpur (525 mm), Balikuda (440 mm) in Jagatsinghpur district, Kantapara (381 mm) in Cuttack district and Niali (370 mm).

With 341 mm rainfall in 24 hours (till 8.30 am of Monday), Puri recorded the highest rainfall in a day in 87 years during September, said Umashankar Das, a weather scientist at Bhubaneswar Met centre. Similarly, capital city Bhubaneswar also broke a 63-year-old rainfall record in this month as the city witnessed 195 mm rainfall. On September 9, 1958, the city had received 163 mm rainfall, he said.
Most of the streets in different parts of Bhubaneswar and Cuttack cities were waterlogged following the heavy rainfall. Flood water entered various low-lying areas, including railway station and Kedargouri temple in Bhubaneswar.
Vehicles were seen floating on the water near the ISKCON temple in Nayapalli area of the State capital where gushing water swamped homes and markets. An ambulance, that had got stuck on way to a hospital, was seen being pushed to a dry patch of the road by locals. Some houses in Dumuduma locality built on farmland have developed cracks, locals said.
Identical scenes were witnessed in Puri, Cuttack and Paradip. Officials said municipal authorities have deployed over 100 pumps in Bhubaneswar and Cuttack to drain out the water. Heavy rain, triggered by a deep depression, has been battering Odisha over the last few days. Waterlogging was reported from several areas of Bhubaneswar as the State capital recorded 195 mm rainfall in 24 hours till 8.30 am on Monday.
The rain water also entered Acharya Harihar Cancer Hospital in Cuttack causing problems for the patients. Commissioner of Cuttack Municipal Corporation (CMC), Ananya Das, said the water-discharge at the cancer hospital is under way while dry food has been arranged for the people in the waterlogged areas. The Jagatsinghpur district administration has evacuated people from low-lying areas to safer places, sources said.

Predicting very heavy rainfall, the Met Centre has issued a ‘Red’ (take action) warning for Sambalpur, Deogarh, Angul, Sonepur and Bargarh districts. Orange warning (be prepared) has been issued for Balangir, Jharsuguda, Sundargarh, Boudh, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Khurda, Jagatsinghpur, Puri and Cuttack.
The weather office advised people to avoid movement in the affected areas as there is a possibility of flash floods/water-logging in the low-lying areas. There will be reduction in visibility that may cause traffic congestion in city areas, it said.

Major rainfall in the last 24 hours ending at 8.30 am on Monday from Puri, Jagatsinghpur, Cuttack, Khurda, Kendrapara, Sonepur, Boudh, Nayagarh, Kandhmal, Jajpur, Sambalpur and Jharsuguda districts:

Astaranga – 530.0 mm, Kakatpur – 525.0 mm, Balikuda – 440.0 mm, Kantapada – 381.0 mm, Niali – 370.0 mm, Puri – 342.5 mm, Gop – 331.0 mm, Satyabadi – 328.0 mm, Ragunathpur – 323.0 mm, Balipatna – 280.5 mm, Kendrapara – 276.0 mm, Marshaghai – 270.0 mm, Kujanga – 265.0 mm, Jagatsinghpur – 264.0 mm, Pipili – 263.0 mm, Tirtol – 245.0 mm, Brahmagiri – 240.0 mm, Paradeep – 220.8 mm, Chandikhol – 220.0 mm, Derabis – 206.0 mm, Tangi – 202.4 mm, Birmaharajpur – 200.0 mm, Bhubaneshwar – 199.0 mm, Boudhgarh – 184.0 mm, Krishnaprasad – 179.4 mm, Garadpur – 169.0 mm, Nayagarh – 154.7 mm, Ullunda – 153.4 mm, Harbhanga – 152.0 mm, Phulbani – 151.2 mm, Binjharpur – 149.4 mm, Bolagarah – 148.0 mm, Mahanga – 147.0 mm, Sonepur – 145.0 mm, Salipur – 140.0 mm, Banpur – 139.0 mm, Odagaon – 131.8 mm, Bari – 128.0 mm, Ranpur – 125.4 mm, Jajpur – 120.0 mm, Banki – 120.0 mm, Cuttack – 117.2 mm, Dashpalla – 111.22 mm, Rairakhol – 109.0 mm and Lakhanpur – 96.2 mm.

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )